Mixed bag for film stars

Bookmark and Share

Friday, May 20, 2016

Mixed bag for film stars

Veterans like the late MG Ramachandran, M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalithaa have already made their mark in politics, many of their junior colleagues threw their hats in the ring this time too.

While actors like Vagai Chandrasekar and Karunaas won, it was not so sweet news for action heroes Vijayakanth and R Sarath Kumar, both of whom lost. Character artiste C R Saraswathi (AIADMK) lost to E Karunanidhi (DMK) from Pallavaram.

Chandrasekar (DMK) won from Velacheri defeating his nearest AIADMK rival by about 11,000 votes. Karunaas, also vice president of South Indian Artiste's Association, made his political debut in the elections and started off on a winning note.

The actor, who runs a small outfit, won in Tiruvadanai constituency where he defeated DMK candidate S P Thivakaran by a margin of 8,696 votes.Former president of SIAA, and Sarath Kumar, who tried his luck from Tiruchendur, was handed down a defeat by local DMK heavyweight Anita S Radhakrishnan.     

In 2011, Sarath Kumar had emerged winner under the AIADMK alliance contesting from Tenkasi. Another actor-politician who lost this year's polls is DMDK chief Vijaykanth.Vijayakanth, Chief Ministerial candidate of DMDK-PWF-TMC combine, unsuccessfully contested from Ulundurpettai constituency.

He had won from Vriddhachalam and Rishivanthiyam constituencies in the previous polls.     He came a poor third securing 34,447 votes. AIADMK retained the seat.Noted actor Raja Krishnamoorthy alias Kitty, who contested the polls as an independent, lost from Velacheri constituency. 

Tags: mixed bag for film stars , Vijayakanth.

Post your comment about mixed bag for film stars

Latest Gallery