Indian President presents Padma awards

Bookmark and Share

Thursday, Apr 05, 2012

Indian President presents Padma awards

The president of India, Prathiba Paatil, presented the Padma awards for people from various fields.

The central government presents the Padma awards every year to people from fields as arts, literature, medicine, commerce and social service and honors them.

The Padma award presentation event for this year was held in the Dharbaar hall in President’s mansion. 

In the occasion, vice president Hameed Ansari, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, United Progressive Front head Sonia Gandi, home minister P. Chidambaram, commerce minister Anand Sharma and several other ministers participated.

The most prestigious award of the nation ‘Bharat Ratna’ was not presented to any individual.  It was announced that the second award Padma Vibooshan is to be presented to late cartoonist Mario Miranda.  President Pratibha Paatil presented the award to his son Rahul.

There was tremendous applause as popular Hindi actor Dharmendra received Padma Vibooshan from president.  Similarly, actress and social activist Shabana Aasmi received Padma Booshan.

Violin artiste MS Gopalakrishnan, Tata company associate head P Muthuraman, mathematician Raghunathan, lawyer P Chandrasekara Rao, former minister for corruption control, Vittal, former minister for Singapore external affairs George Yong received Padmabooshan.

38 people including industrialist Swati Pramaal,  diabetes specialist Dr. V Mohan, Dr. VS Natarajan, former Olympic Hockey player Jabbar Iqbal, arrow shooting expert Limba Ram, cricket commentator Ravi Chathurvedi, Odyssey artiste Minoti Misra,  and ISRO lecturer Yagnasamy  received Padmashree awards.

In the event held yesterday, 51 people received award.  Popular painter KG Subramanian, Satyanarayan Goyenka and Jose Pereira did not participate in the event.

For these people award would be presented on another day.  It is to be noted that last month on 22nd several people received Padma awards.

Tags: indian president presents padma awards, Padma awards,Indian President ,president of Indi,Prathiba Paatil,Padma award photos,Dr V Mohan,Padma Vibooshan,Bharat Ratna,.

Post your comment about indian president presents padma awards

Latest Gallery